Drug possession crimes are not to be taken lightly in Maryland. Under the law, even the possession of fewer than 10 grams of marijuana can result in 90 days in jail and/or a $500 fine. Not only can possession charges interrupt an individual's life, but they can also follow them as part of their permanent record. Facing these infractions without a Prince George's County drug possession attorney could turn even the smallest possession charges into long-lasting blemishes on a citizen's record.
That's where we can step in for you. Our team at Gracia & Mintz has both prosecuting and law enforcement experience. We've been able to lend that unique perspective to countless drug possession charges and are ready to bring that experience to your case today.
In cases of possession of a controlled substance in Maryland, the substance is categorized into one of five classes (referred to as "schedules"), each with its own set of definitions. For instance, Schedule I describes the most dangerous drugs defined by the government, while other schedules describe substances that could be used in medical treatment, but can still be obtained and held illegally by an individual.
Understanding where your charge fits into this system can be intimidating but is also key to knowing what kind of penalty to expect. We at Gracia & Mintz can help you understand Maryland's drug statutes and navigate your case towards the best possible outcome.
Call our Prince George's County drug possession lawyers today at (301) 842-8584!
Depending on the quantity and classification of the controlled substance someone is caught with, penalties under the law can vary. They are, however, serious misdemeanors and call for the council of a drug crimes lawyer.
Penalties for narcotics possession (except marijuana) in Maryland can include:
There have been recent changes to Maryland's drug laws concerning the possession of marijuana. As of October 2012, being caught in possession of fewer than 10 grams of marijuana for a first offense can result in a $100 fine. A second offense is punishable by a fine of up to $250. A third offense could result in a fine of $500 along with a drug education program and a referral to an assessment for substance abuse. Possession of more than 10 grams in Maryland, however, yield harsher penalties of up to 1 year in prison and up to $1,000 in fines.
In cases in which a person is caught in possession of marijuana that is intended for someone else with a medical condition, that individual needs to be legally designated as a "caregiver" by the patient. This circumstance has its own set of requirements, all of which would need to be proven in a court of law.
You don't have to wait to understand, prepare for, or fight a drug possession charge. Our Prince George's County drug possession attorneys are ready to handle your case today. Call us now at (301) 842-8584 for a free consultation!