Skip to Content
Millions Recovered For Our Clients

Will I Lose My Driver's License After a DUI Arrest?

Defending Your Future. Experience You Can Trust.

Protect Your Driving Privileges During Your DUI Case

Depending on your situation and how many prior DUI arrests and / or convictions you have, you may lose your driver's license after a DUI arrest. In cases of underage DUI, a young driver may lose their privileges as well. There are multiple levels of suspension including a complete suspension or hardship license. You may have to request a restricted license to ensure you can retain some of your driving privileges.

In most DUI cases, the driver who is arrested will be issued a temporary license, which allows you to drive for 45 days. However, within ten days of receiving this license, you must schedule a hearing with the Motor Vehicle Administration to obtain a hardship license. If you do not schedule said hearing, you can lose your opportunity to apply for a hardship license and, as a result, may face complete license suspension. How long your license is suspended for depends on any prior DUI charges you may have, but can range anywhere from 90 days to multiple years. In the event you have multiple DUI charges or are facing manslaughter charges with your DUI charge, you may lose your license permanently.

DUI Points & Your Driving Privileges

Even if you do not lose your license, points may be added to your license like for a traffic offense. Once you have accumulated a certain amount of points, your license can be suspended or revoked. Point accumulation remains on your Maryland driving record forever—said points cannot be erased.

The point penalties are as follows:

  • Three to Four Points Over Two Years- This will result in you receiving a written warning from the Maryland MVA
  • Five to Seven Points in Two Years- You must sign up for a Points System Conference and / or complete a driver improvement program
  • Eight to Eleven Points in Two Years- The Maryland MVA will suspend your driver's license
  • Twelve or More Points in Two Years- You must relinquish your driver's license to the MVA office and when the revocation period expires, you must apply for a new license

If you are facing DUI charges, ensure your driving privileges are protected by hiring an experienced Prince George's County DUI defense attorney.

How Gracia & Mintz Can Help

When you do not act quickly to protect your driving privileges after your DUI arrest, you are jeopardizing your driving future, as well as your future wellbeing. If you do not have driver's license, it may be more difficult for your to retain a job; therefore, making it hard for you to earn a living and support yourself.

The legal team at Gracia & Mintz have assisted a multitude of clients protect their driving privileges following DUI arrests. We explain how to interact with police during a DUI stop, what you should do if an officer questions you, and what to expect in a DUI case all on our blog.

Want more information? Call our firm today at (301) 842-8584.