Reasons for Suspended License
In Maryland, one of the most common traffic charges is driving with a suspended or revoked license. A license suspension is when a driver is temporarily prohibited from operating a motor vehicle for several months. Revocation is the permanent loss of a license. People can face severe consequences if they fail to respect their suspended or revoked license. The Prince George's County criminal defense attorneys from Gracia & Mintz have shared 4 common reasons why licenses are suspended or revoked in Maryland.
#1: Convicted of a DUI
A driver convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol faces serious penalties. A DUI conviction is often punished with jail time, fines, and points on your license. A DUI is also one of the main reasons why drivers get their licenses suspended or revoked. The severity of the consequences will depend on the person’s driving record and the specifics of the incident. If you were convicted and received an MVA notice of license revocation or suspension, it is vital to contact experienced lawyers at Gracia and Mintz to help you fight for your driving privileges.
#2: Point Accumulation
In Maryland, drivers can accumulate up to 7 points before they lose their driving privileges. A driver will get their license suspended after 8 points and revoked after 12 points. Therefore, even a handful of minor traffic citations can result in a driver losing their license.
#3: Unpaid Tickets
Failing to pay traffic tickets is another common reason why drivers get their licenses suspended or revoked. It is common for people to underestimate the seriousness of a traffic ticket. When a police officer issues you a ticket, you are required to take action within 30 days—taking action may include paying the ticket or requesting a trial. If you fail to do either within the 30 days, your license will be suspended.
#4: Refusing to Take a BAC Test
If a police officer stops a driver on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI), they may be asked to take a blood, breath, or urine test. You may also be asked to take a preliminary breath test when you're pulled over. However, you are required to take both the preliminary breath test and the chemical test or your license will be suspended for 45 days to a year. It is vital to contact our attorneys as soon as possible to discuss your legal options if you were charged with a DUI and your license was suspended.
The legal team at Gracia & Mintz have assisted a multitude of clients to protect their driving privileges after their license has been suspended or revoked. We explain the different legal options available for you, and we help you every step of the way. If you need legal assistance for any of the reasons listed below, contact us today at (301) 842-8584!